PDA

Bekijk Volledige Versie : Photo journal: Morocco's lady detective

mark61
24-04-05, 23:18
Adultery

In the latest in our series on people's daily lives, Myriam Marzak from Morocco talks about her detective agency. I am the only woman private detective in Morocco. When I started up, people came to my office in Casablanca out of curiosity, saying: “A woman can’t do that job”. But I have taken on all sorts of cases now, anything from finding out if someone is committing adultery to locating former employees who have stolen money from banks or insurance firms.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/picture_gallery/05/africa_morocco0s_lady_detective/img/1.jpg

Malicious

I studied in Montpelier in France at one of the world's best detective schools. Then I worked in the French ministry of the interior, where I did most of my training. When I came back to Morocco to set up as a private detective two years ago, I wasn’t prepared – even though I am Moroccan – for the lengths people will go to here to ruin someone else’s life. Some can be malicious, maybe it’s because they have more time on their hands here.

Secrecy

I don’t accept every case that comes my way. If the client is after revenge, I won’t take the case on. And I won't help a man locate a woman without asking why. Once I’ve accepted a job, I work in absolute secrecy.

Some clients aren’t very impressed with my office because I don’t have a secretary, but you can’t be too careful - I can’t have someone typing up my client's notes and then selling the information.

Not a film

People think being a detective is glamorous, but in fact it’s a lot of long, hard work. There is a lot of planning involved, it’s not like in the movies. When I’m tracking someone, for example, I sometimes need to change transport, so I’ll need to ensure I have a bicycle waiting if I can’t go by car.

Know your man