PDA

Bekijk Volledige Versie : Confessions of a Former Jew

Wizdom
11-04-08, 22:55
Confessions of a Former Jew
By Brother Nathanael Kapner - Real Jew News April 2008

JEWISH MOTHERS ARE a powerful force in a Jewish child’s life. This powerful force continues unabated far into the adult years of a Jewish child.

It was my Jewish mother who pampered me, spoiled me, and smothered me with a blanket of over-protectedness and over-bearingness for a large part of my life.

Not only did my Jewish mother want to know during my adult years if I was eating well, (and what exactly I had to eat that day), but if ever I was going to rise above the level of under-achievement by becoming someday a doctor or a lawyer. Anything less was to be a complete failure in her eyes. “It’s never too late,” my Jewish mother kept scolding me.

I was a straight-commissioned salesman for a manufacturer of cleaning products and this was not the kind of profession my mother could brag about to her Jewish friends.

“What field is your son in?” my mother’s Jewish lady friends at Hadassah meetings would ask her. “He’s the Director of Personnel for a large manufacturing concern,” my mother would answer — substituting “personnel” for my sales-calls on “persons.”

But the main thing that my mother would never forgive me for, (until she got baptized 33 years later), was my converting to Christianity when I was 21 years old in 1971. This for her was tantamount to being a janitor in an Elks Club - the ultimate for her in under-achievement.

Zionism Drummed Into My Head

I WAS BORN in 1950, two years after the State of Israel was declared a nation in 1948. I guess you could say that not only was I a “baby boomer,” but a “zionist boomer” as well.