PDA

Bekijk Volledige Versie : An American Muslim woman speaks her mind

abdulhamid
08-11-10, 18:33
An American Muslim woman speaks her mind (finally)

Should America be teaching the rest of the world morality?

Sunday 10 October 2010, by Zencali

I am a 64 year old woman who married an Iranian in 1967 and went to Iran and continued into Afghanistan and other nearby countries during the 1970’s. Interestingly I was in Kabul in 1978 when the government was overthrown and was very surprised that tourtists were asked to leave the day before the revolution as if it were a staged event. Now I have seen the horrors that have happened in Afghanistan increase every year...............this is the beginning of my comments. By the way I have a degree in Islamic History of Iran from UC Santa Cruz, California and wrote a thesis on how the Islamic ullamah took charge of the Iranian country in 1979; in other words: why they won.

Reading these articles about current affairs in Afghanistan is very disturbing to me. Like so many other people my age who went to your area during the "hippy" years of the 1960’s to 1980’s — we fell in love with the Afghan people and culture. I had been working for the Shah of Iran’s Pahlavi Foundation; Northrop Page Communication (who installed the satellite system in Iran) as secretary to the VP of Marketing and the President and also for a wealthy Greek/Iranian shipping/port building firm in Tehran. I had taken the time to learn Farsi and associate with the common people at the bazaar and mosque area.